Multi-award-winning vocalist Kurt Elling will present the ASCAP Bob Harrington Lifetime Achievement Award to Jon Hendricks at the 31st annual Bistro Awards on Tuesday, March 8 at 6:30 at Gotham Comedy Club in New York, NY.

Jon Hendricks

Elling, who is also performing, has stated, “Jon is undoubtedly the greatest jazz singer alive and an internationally. His recorded scat solos stand up to those of the most accomplished improvisers of his generation; his lyrics are on a par with the masters of any genre of writing. He is living history, and his is the standard to which any jazz singer must aspire.

Mr. Hendricks co-founded the pioneering vocal trio Lambert, Hendricks & Ross in the ’50s. Together with Dave Lambert and Annie Ross, he mastered the art of vocalese — that of adding lyrics to instrumental compositions and instrumental solos, as well as complex vocal treatments for the Big Band arrangements of the likes of Duke Ellington and Count Basie. Their work influenced countless well-known singers, including Van Morrison, Al Jarreau, and Bobby McFerrin.  As a solo vocalist, he has recorded several albums, made frequent television appearances, and toured extensively internationally, and he has served multiple times on the Kennedy Center Honors committee.

Being honored with a Bistro Award for her Outstanding Contributions to the World of Jazz, Annie Ross was part of the famed Lambert, Hendricks & Ross trio for six years. After leaving the group, she ran a jazz club in London and has enjoyed a long career in film and theatre. She has been a celebrated solo jazz vocalist for many years. Janis Siegel has been a member of Manhattan Transfer since 1973 and is also an acclaimed solo jazz vocalist; she is being recognized for Sustained Excellence in Jazz Performance and Recording, And being honored with a Bistro Award for Ongoing Artistry in Cabaret and Concert Performance is Christine Andreas, who has maintained an international career in theatre, television, concert halls, and clubs.

This year’s other recipients and their categories are:
Jarrod Spector & Kelli Barrett / Major Engagement

“Another Hundred People” (KT Sullivan, Jeff Harnar, Sondra Lee, Jon Weber) / Musical Revue

Sharon McNight / Commanding Cabaret Artistry

Matt Baker / Ira Eaker Special Achievement Award

Molly Pope / Creative Cabaret Artist

Ann Dawson / Vocalist

Dawn Derow / Vocalist

Rob Sutton / Vocalist

Charlie Johnson / Entertainer

Aaron Morishita / Recording (“Singing Sondheim”)

Urban Stages’ “Winter Rhythms” (Frances Hill, Peter Napolitano) / Series

Hosting the 31st annual show is Jason Graae, whose varied career spans Broadway, Off Broadway, opera, television, and film. He is a four-time Bistro Award recipient for his various one-man shows which have toured all over the country and for his special musical material. This will be the fourth year in a row that the Bistro Awards show will be under the directorial helm of Shellen Lubin. A director, songwriter, performer, and vocal and acting coach, she has been in the forefront of attaining parity for women in the arts.

The gala event will be held on Tuesday, March 8 at 6:30 pm at Gotham Comedy Club. 208 W. 23rd Street. As is the Bistro Awards tradition, the evening will feature performances by nearly all of the winners. Sherry Eaker, the former longtime Editor-in Chief of Back Stage and the producer of the event since its inception, heads up the Awards Committee that includes critics Gerry Geddes, Roy Sander, Robert Windeler, and Mark Dundas Wood. Sander is also the award show’s associate producer.

The Bistro Awards is sponsored by ASCAP. Premium Tickets are $120.00; General Admission tickets are $70.00. Ticket-buyers in both categories are invited to the “After-Bistros” party as guests of the Bistros.

For details about the various ticket categories and to purchase tickets, visit